Rule 18.3 by Luke Parker

There’s frequently “lively on water debate” (aka yelling) within our fleets at the top mark when port tackers try to navigate a parade of boats on starboard tack. Here is a very good video on rule 18.3 which concerns entering the 3 boat length zone from port at the top mark.  It’s worth a viewing. Summary: A boat that was on port as it entered the 3 boat length zone at a windward mark must always, including AFTER it tacks onto starboard, stay clear.  The port entry boat (no matter if it’s subsequently tacks to starboard) must not inconvenience any boat that was already on starboard when it entered the zone.

See Full Post >>